networking 2.0

Ooh!  Ooh!  I just found an environmentally friendly way to provide your contact information to a new acquaintance.

It’s called MyDropCard.com, and you can sign up for free.  You just need a mobile phone with either texting ability or access to the Internet.  And, of course, you actually need to keep the phone with you when you’re out and about.

When you meet someone new, and they want to exchange business cards, all you need to do is whip out your handy-dandy mobile phone, text their email address to MyDropCard, and whoosh, your complete contact info is EMAILED to them!  OR, you can use your phone to navigate to MyDropCard.com online, and enter their email address there!

Since the data is electronic, it’s super easy for them to plug your contact info into Outlook, or another electronic filing system, and there’s no wasted paper!

I signed up today, and will be testing this out at the next networking event I attend (which will probably be PCMA in January).

If you sign up, comment here and tell everyone how you like it!

3 thoughts on “networking 2.0

  1. Alli Gerkman says:

    Krys–I love this. Thanks for the tip. I’m going to try it out. I just hope it catches on–I hate getting home with the task of manually entering all my new contacts to my contact manager!

  2. Krys Slovacek says:

    Thanks, Alli! I tested it out on myself, and the only thing I don’t like is that the email it sends says that I want the recipients contact info, too (which them prompts them to sign up). That feels a little ‘hard sell’ to me. But, the concept itself is awesome, and I’m looking forward to the first real opportunity to try it out!

Leave a Reply

