are you as good as you think you are?

Well, are you?  Prove it!  Take the CMP exam, like me!

What is the CMP exam?  It’s the test that’s required to be awarded the Certified Meeting Planner title by the Convention Industry Council (CIC).  Learn more about why you should become a CMP here.

I applied, and was accepted, to take the CMP exam sometime in the next couple years.  I’m planning on taking the Winter 2009 exam.  It’s a daunting thing, to study for this exam.  The study materials are huge books, the test is long and multiple choice, and not everyone passes on their first try.

Therefore, I was thrilled to know that PCMA and CIC have decided to add another study aid to assist us in preparing for this exam.  As reported in MeetingsNet.com, PCMA and CIC are joining forces on International CMP Study Day for the August 2008 exam – the study day is July 18, 2008, with locations across the globe!

While the article states that they’re hoping to make this an annual event, I’m hoping they provide a study day before each of their testing dates.  Meanwhile, if anyone else is planning on taking the Winter ’09 exam, let me know – I need to join a study group!

2 thoughts on “are you as good as you think you are?

  1. Catarina says:

    Hi, I’m in the process of completing my application for the Winter 2009 exam. I’ve been in the events industry for 5 years, but not sure I will have enough points to meet the requirements. If you don’t mind me asking, how did you go about the application process, and what were your strengths? The requirements on the CIC website are vague, aside from the application. Do you need to have an MBA or is a Bachelor’s sufficient, do you need a degree at all? Do you have to be employed full time in order to be accepted, I’m a freelancer now. Any feedback you can provide would be much appreciated, and if accepted, I would love to think tank. Thanks!

  2. Krys Slovacek says:

    Catarina, congratulations on deciding to obtain your CMP!

    When I applied, I printed out the application and filled it out in pencil, tallying up my points as I went. My strength was in continuing education, as I make every opportunity to participate in educational events when they come to town.

    You don’t need to have a degree of any kind to qualify, nor do you need to be employed full time. You just need to have primary responsibility for planning meetings and events.

    Best of luck to you! Be sure to come back and comment when you get accepted!

Leave a Reply

